TOEFL

TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) est un test d’anglais organisé par l’Educational Testing Service (ETS) et utilisé pour évaluer la compétence d’un locuteur d’anglais non-natif dans la langue anglaise.

Les collèges et universités basés dans des pays anglophones ainsi qu’un grand nombre d’établissements, agences et sociétés, demandent les scores officielles du test TOEFL au cours du processus d’admission, et les scores TOEFL exigés varient d’un établissement à l’autre.

The TOEFL tests

Il vaut la peine de savoir qu’il existe deux types de tests TOEFL: le TOEFL iBT (test basé sur Internet) et le TOEFL PBT (test basé sur papier). Il n’y a pas de grande différence entre ces deux tests, mais les tâches du volet oral et écrit donnent au TOEFL iBT l’apparence d’être légèrement plus difficile.

The PBT Test

In the TOEFL PBT test, you can get a minimum score of 31 and a maximum of 67 in each section; total score can range from 310 to 677.

The iBT Test

In the internet-based test, each section has a minimum score of 0 and a maximum of 30, so the total maximum score is 120, with anything above 80 being considered a good score.

Les deux tests sont divisés en plusieurs volets (lecture, expression orale, écoute et écriture). Le score que vous obtenez restera valide deux ans. Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de votre score, vous pouvez refaire le test TOEFL autant de fois que vous voulez, mais au rythme d’une fois par mois seulement. Si vous voulez vous préparer afin d’obtenir le score que vous voulez à la première tentative, vous êtes au bon endroit!

TOEFL test preparation courses

Pour suivre ce cours vous devez avoir un niveau d’anglais de B1 dans le Cadre européen commun de référence. Si votre niveau d’anglais est inférieur au minimum demandé, nous vous suggérons de suivre d’abord un cours d’anglais général puis de commencer votre cours de préparation au test TOEFL, ou bien vous pouvez combiner TOEFL à un cours d’anglais général pour progresser plus rapidement dans vos études. Si vous ne savez pas quel est votre niveau d’anglais, nous pouvons vous aider à l’évaluer et vous suggérer le parcours pédagogique qui correspondra le mieux à vos compétences et besoins.

Le cours de préparation au test TOEFL de LAL est un cours de 60 heures (30 heures au Cap) qui prend 4 semaines (15 heures par semaine), du lundi au vendredi. Le cours comporte un maximum de 10 élèves et utilise les directives officielles du test TOEFL rédigées par ETS, les créateurs de cet examen.

Le cours du test TOEFL couvre les domaines suivants pendant les 4 semaines de son déroulement: Lecture (semaine 1), écoute et expression orale (semaine 2) et écriture (semaine 3) – tous sur ordinateur. La dernière semaine du cours est consacrée à pratiquer des tests.

Bien que la grammaire anglaise ne soit pas spécifiquement étudiée, les quatre domaines de compétence exigent tous un bon niveau de grammaire et de structure. Tout au long du cours, les élèves font trois tests TOEFL blancs authentiques et entiers, ainsi que des mini-tests. Ce cours a été conçu pour vous préparer à affronter toutes les tâches académiques, que ce soit dans votre éducation supérieure ou dans votre vie professionnelle.

Testimonials

Where to take the TOEFL preparation course?

Si le certificat TOEFL Est-ce qu’il vous faut, il vous suffit de choisir où vous souhaitez suivre le cours. LAL Language Centres propose ce cours à Boston, au Cap et à Fort Lauderdale.

Learn English online

Vous aurez aussi la possibilité de poursuivre votre entraînement hors de la salle de classe sur la plateforme d’apprentissage en ligne LAL Advantage, qui est mise à votre disposition gratuitement. Même quand vous quittez l’école, vous pouvez continuer à utiliser la plateforme en ligne pendant trois mois.



I've lost my username/password
mautic is open source marketing automation

TOEFL

Exam preparation

TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) is an English test that is administered by Educational Testing Service (ETS) and is used to evaluate a non-native English speaker’s proficiency in the English language.

English-speaking country-based colleges and universities, as well as a large number of institutions, agencies and companies, ask for official TOEFL test scores during the admissions process and the required TOEFL scores for admission vary from institution to institution.

The TOEFL tests

It is worth knowing that there are two different kinds of TOEFL test: the TOEFL iBT (which stands for internet-based test) and the TOEFL PBT (paper-based test). There is not a great difference between these two tests, but the integrated tasks in the speaking and writing part make the TOEFL iBT look slightly more difficult.

The PBT Test

In the TOEFL PBT test, you can get a minimum score of 31 and a maximum of 67 in each section; total score can range from 310 to 677.

The iBT Test

In the internet-based test, each section has a minimum score of 0 and a maximum of 30, so the total maximum score is 120, with anything above 80 being considered a good score.

Both tests are divided into four different sections (reading, speaking, listening and writing).The score you will be awarded upon completion will be valid for two years. If you are not happy with your score, you can retake the TOEFL test as many times as you wish, though only once in each month. If you want to prepare yourself to get the score needed at the first attempt you are in the right place!

TOEFL test preparation courses

If you want to take this course you need to have a B1 level of English of the Common European Framework Reference. If your level of English is lower than the minimum requirement we would suggest you take a General English course first, then start your TOEFL test preparation course, or you can combine TOEFL with General English to progress faster in your studies. If you are not sure what your level of English is, we can help you in assessing your level and suggesting the learning path that best suits your skills and needs.

The TOEFL test Preparation Course at LAL is a 60-hour course (30 hours in Cape Town) that takes place over 4 weeks (15 hours per week), from Monday to Friday. The course has a maximum of 10 students and uses the Official Guidelines for the TOEFL Test made by ETS, the creators of this exam.

The TOEFL test course will cover the following areas during the 4 weeks: Reading (Week 1), Listening and Speaking (Week 2) and Writing (Week 3) – all of which are taken on the computer. The final week of the course is dedicated to practice tests.

Although English grammar is not specifically addressed, the four skill areas all require a good level of grammar and structure. Throughout the course, students undertake three full length authentic TOEFL practice tests as well as mini tests. The course has been designed to prepare you to tackle any academic task in both your higher education pursuits or in your professional life.

Testimonials

Where to take the TOEFL preparation course?

If the TOEFL certificate is what you need, then you just need to choose where you would like to undertake the course. LAL Language Centres run this course in Boston, Cape Town and Fort Lauderdale.

Learn English online

Furthermore, you will have the opportunity to practice more outside the classroom on the LAL Advantage online learning platform, available for you at no extra cost. Even when you leave the school, you can continue to use the online platform for three months.

LAL Advantage
mautic is open source marketing automation