TOEFL

TOEFL (тест на знание английского языка как иностранного) — это экзамен по английскому языку, который проводится Службой тестирования в сфере образования (Educational Testing Service, ETS), и используется для оценки уровня владения английским языком у людей, для которых английский не является родным языком.

Многие ВУЗы, государственные учреждения, агентства и компании в англоязычных странах требуют наличия определенного официального балла по тесту TOEFL при поступлении или трудоустройстве, при этом разные учебные заведения и коммерческие организации устанавливают свой минимальный балл TOEFL, необходимый для поступления или трудоустройства.

The TOEFL tests

Вам следует знать, что существует два вида теста TOEFL: TOEFL iBT (онлайн-тест) и TOEFL PBT (тест на бумажном носителе). Эти два теста не сильно отличаются друг от друга, но интегрированные задания в разделах разговорной речи и письма немного усложняют тест TOEFL iBT.

The PBT Test

In the TOEFL PBT test, you can get a minimum score of 31 and a maximum of 67 in each section; total score can range from 310 to 677.

The iBT Test

In the internet-based test, each section has a minimum score of 0 and a maximum of 30, so the total maximum score is 120, with anything above 80 being considered a good score.

Полученный результат остается действительным на протяжении двух лет. Если вы не довольны своим баллом, вы можете пересдавать тест TOEFL столько раз, сколько захотите, но только один раз в месяц. Если вы хотите подготовиться к тесту так, чтобы получить необходимый вам балл с первого раз, то вы обратились в нужное место!

TOEFL test preparation courses

Чтобы пройти курс подготовки к этому экзамену, вам требуется владение английским языком минимум на уровне В1 по Общеевропейской шкале языковой компетенции. Если ваш уровень владения английским языком ниже требуемого, мы рекомендуем вам сначала пройти Общий курс английского языка, а затем начать курс подготовки к тесту TOEFL; вы также можете совместить курс TOEFL с Общим курсом, чтобы быстрее получить желаемый результат. Если вы не знаете свой уровень владения английским языком, мы поможем вам его определить и предложим курс обучения, максимально соответствующий вашим навыкам и потребностям.

Курс подготовки к тесту TOEFL в школе LAL рассчитан на 60 часов занятий (30 часов в школе в Кейптауне) на протяжении 4 недель (15 часов в неделю) с понедельника по пятницу. Группы состоят из максимум 10 студентов. В ходе курса используются Официальные рекомендации для теста TOEFL, составленные разработчиком экзамена ETS.

На протяжении 4 недель в рамках курса подготовки к тесту TOEFL будут изучаться следующие разделы: чтение (неделя 1), аудирование и разговорная речь (неделя 2) и письмо (неделя 3). Задания по всем разделам выполняются на компьютере.

Последняя неделя курса посвящена пробным тестам. Последняя неделя курса посвящена пробным тестам. Хотя грамматика английского языка не рассматривается в этом курсе отдельно, все четыре категории языковых навыков требуют хорошего знания грамматики и структуры предложения. На протяжении курса студенты пройдут три пробных теста TOEFL полной версии, а также несколько мини-тестов. Этот курс был разработан для того, чтобы подготовить вас к любым академическим заданиям, которые могут встретиться вам в будущем при получении высшего образования или в работе.

Testimonials

Where to take the TOEFL preparation course?

Если вам необходим сертификат TOEFL, то вам остается только выбрать, где вы хотите пройти обучение по этому курсу.

Learn English online

Furthermore, you will have the opportunity to practice more outside the classroom on the LAL Advantage online learning platform, available for you at no extra cost. Even when you leave the school, you can continue to use the online platform for three months.



I've lost my username/password

TOEFL

Exam preparation

TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) is an English test that is administered by Educational Testing Service (ETS) and is used to evaluate a non-native English speaker’s proficiency in the English language.

English-speaking country-based colleges and universities, as well as a large number of institutions, agencies and companies, ask for official TOEFL test scores during the admissions process and the required TOEFL scores for admission vary from institution to institution.

The TOEFL tests

It is worth knowing that there are two different kinds of TOEFL test: the TOEFL iBT (which stands for internet-based test) and the TOEFL PBT (paper-based test). There is not a great difference between these two tests, but the integrated tasks in the speaking and writing part make the TOEFL iBT look slightly more difficult.

The PBT Test

In the TOEFL PBT test, you can get a minimum score of 31 and a maximum of 67 in each section; total score can range from 310 to 677.

The iBT Test

In the internet-based test, each section has a minimum score of 0 and a maximum of 30, so the total maximum score is 120, with anything above 80 being considered a good score.

Both tests are divided into four different sections (reading, speaking, listening and writing).The score you will be awarded upon completion will be valid for two years. If you are not happy with your score, you can retake the TOEFL test as many times as you wish, though only once in each month. If you want to prepare yourself to get the score needed at the first attempt you are in the right place!

TOEFL test preparation courses

If you want to take this course you need to have a B1 level of English of the Common European Framework Reference. If your level of English is lower than the minimum requirement we would suggest you take a General English course first, then start your TOEFL test preparation course, or you can combine TOEFL with General English to progress faster in your studies. If you are not sure what your level of English is, we can help you in assessing your level and suggesting the learning path that best suits your skills and needs.

The TOEFL test Preparation Course at LAL is a 60-hour course (30 hours in Cape Town) that takes place over 4 weeks (15 hours per week), from Monday to Friday. The course has a maximum of 10 students and uses the Official Guidelines for the TOEFL Test made by ETS, the creators of this exam.

The TOEFL test course will cover the following areas during the 4 weeks: Reading (Week 1), Listening and Speaking (Week 2) and Writing (Week 3) – all of which are taken on the computer. The final week of the course is dedicated to practice tests.

Although English grammar is not specifically addressed, the four skill areas all require a good level of grammar and structure. Throughout the course, students undertake three full length authentic TOEFL practice tests as well as mini tests. The course has been designed to prepare you to tackle any academic task in both your higher education pursuits or in your professional life.

Testimonials

Where to take the TOEFL preparation course?

If the TOEFL certificate is what you need, then you just need to choose where you would like to undertake the course. LAL Language Centres run this course in Boston, Cape Town and Fort Lauderdale.

Learn English online

Furthermore, you will have the opportunity to practice more outside the classroom on the LAL Advantage online learning platform, available for you at no extra cost. Even when you leave the school, you can continue to use the online platform for three months.

LAL Advantage
mautic is open source marketing automation