General English

Plus de 840 millions de personnes parlent l’anglais en tant que première ou deuxième langue, car c’est la langue officielle de 67 pays. L’anglais est donc l’une des trois langues les plus parlées du monde.

On dit aussi que la langue anglaise est l’une des langues les plus optimistes du monde car le mot «happy» (heureux) est utilisé trois fois plus que «sad» (triste). La mission de LAL Language Centres est de créer l’environnement idéal pour apprendre l’anglais et devenir l’une des millions de personnes du monde qui parlent cette langue optimiste.

Featured courses

General English courses

Le cours « Anglais général » couvre les quatre principales aptitudes dont vous avez besoin pour écrire et parler l’anglais (lire, écrire, écouter et parler) en mettant l’accent sur la communication pratique dans des situations courantes par exemple voyager, faire des courses et profiter de ses loisirs.

Become an efficient learner

There will be support with grammar and pronunciation, and we will also introduce study skills to help you to become an efficient learner and to keep learning English out of the classroom.

A wide range of materials

The course will usually follow a course book, but we will also use a wide range of materials, including real-life listening and video examples, authentic texts and on-line resources.

Lessons is adapted to your needs

The content of the lessons is adapted to your needs and interests and you will have the opportunity to discuss, negotiate and plan the week’s work with your teacher and fellow students.

Vous pouvez vous joindre à ce cours au début de chaque semaine (sauf les débutants, qui peuvent uniquement commencer le premier lundi du mois) et choisir parmi un large éventail de cours d’anglais et d’horaires qui répondent aux besoins et niveaux de tous les apprenants.

L’un de nos programmes les plus suivis est le cours d’anglais général. Les élèves à plein temps ont trois heures de leçons par jour, du lundi au vendredi. Le cours d’anglais général est ouvert à tous les niveaux, des débutants complets aux locuteurs avancés. Ce cours a été conçu pour que vous appreniez l’anglais avec notre méthode communicative qui vous aidera à améliorer votre aisance et votre précision.

Quinze heures par semaine ne vous semblent pas suffisantes? Aucun problème: vous pouvez apprendre l’anglais plus vite avec notre cours d’anglais intensif qui vous permettra tout de même d’équilibrer votre interaction en classe avec des périodes d’étude structurée et des activités de loisirs, et qui comprend 30 leçons (22,5 heures) par semaine. Vous apprendrez l’anglais au rythme qui vous convient tout en ayant le temps de profiter de votre séjour chez LAL.

Si vous souhaitez recevoir une attention plus personnelle pendant votre cours, le choix qui vous conviendra le mieux est le cours «Anglais général Premium» (3 heures par jour, du lundi au vendredi). «Anglais général Premium» a une structure similaire à celle de nos cours d’anglais général standard, mais avec l’avantage supplémentaire de classes plus petites : avec un maximum de six élèves par classe chacun reçoit plus d’attention, ce qui peut faciliter l’apprentissage de l’anglais.

Ce cours est disponible dans nos écoles de Londres, Torbay et Malte et vous avez le choix entre les formules « Anglais général Premium » et « Anglais intensif Premium » qui offre 10 leçons supplémentaires l’après-midi.

Une autre variante du cours d’anglais général est la formule « Général + Premium » proposée à Londres, Torbay et Le Cap. Ce cours a été créé pour les élèves qui apprécient l’interaction d’une classe de taille standard mais qui souhaitent aussi avoir des leçons dans un environnement plus personnel afin d’améliorer encore leurs compétences.

Cette méthode d’apprentissage de l’anglais associe 20 leçons (15 heures) d’anglais général en groupes de 12 élèves maximum et 10 leçons par semaine en plus petits groupes de six élèves seulement, soit un total de 22,5 heures par semaine. Les 10 leçons supplémentaires par semaine se déroulent l’après-midi et vous donnent la possibilité de mettre en pratique les choses apprises pendant le cours d’anglais général.

Enfin, dans nos LAL Language Centres aux États-Unis, Boston et Fort Lauderdale, vous pouvez suivre un cours « Anglais général Extra » qui se compose de 18 heures de cours par semaine dans un groupe de 12 élèves maximum. 15 heures par semaine sont consacrées à l’anglais général et 3 heures à la conversation. C’est exactement le nombre d’heures dont vous avez besoin si vous souhaitez demander un visa F-1 pour étudier aux États-Unis.

Une autre variante du cours d’anglais général est le cours «Anglais l’après-midi» proposé à Londres, Boston et Fort Lauderdale: 5 jours par semaine, 1,5 heure par jour, en petits groupes de 12 élèves maximum. C’est le cours idéal si vous voulez étudier tout en travaillant, ou profiter de tout ce que Londres peut offrir.

Enfin, si l’adolescence est loin derrière vous, nos cours d’anglais 30+ et 40+ vous proposent un programme attractif si vous souhaitez étudier avec des gens de votre âge. Si vous choisissez ce cours à Malte, nous incluons des visites culturelles dont celle de Valetta, la superbe capitale de Malte, et celle de la «cité silencieuse» de Mdina.

Dans tous nos centres vous pouvez réserver des leçons particulières ou des cours « Anglais pour deux » (leçons particulières pour deux personnes) avec l’un de nos enseignants natifs (ou équivalent). Les avantages offerts par les leçons particulières ou les cours « Anglais pour deux » sont notamment la possibilité de programmer votre propre emploi du temps et de définir avec votre enseignant les thèmes et compétences prioritaires. Si vous vous préparez à un événement particulier tel qu’un entretien d’emploi, un examen ou autre, ce sera peut-être le cours le plus adapté.

Aucun des cours ci-dessus ne vous attire? Réservez votre billet d’avion pour Le Cap et vivez l’aventure de votre vie avec notre Classe itinérante. Ce cours de sept jours en plein air vous permet d’apprendre l’anglais pendant un safari en Afrique du Sud avec les autres élèves et un enseignant qualifié.

Enfin, LAL Torbay propose un cours d’anglais général économique dispensé par des enseignants en cours de formation supervisés par un formateur Cambridge CELTA. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus à propos de ce cours ou des précédents, n’hésitez pas à nous envoyer un e-mail ou à parler à nos conseillers.

Testimonials

Where to learn English

Si c’est le cours qui vous convient, il vous suffit de choisir où y participer.  LAL Language Centres propose ce cours en Angleterre, en Afrique du Sud, à Malte et aux États-Unis.

Learn English Online

Vous aurez aussi la possibilité de poursuivre votre entraînement hors de la salle de classe sur la plateforme d’apprentissage en ligne LAL Advantage, qui est mise à votre disposition gratuitement. Même quand vous quittez l’école, vous pouvez continuer à utiliser la plateforme en ligne pendant trois mois.



I've lost my username/password
mautic is open source marketing automation

General English

All levels

Over 840 million people speak English as a first or second language, being the official language in 67 countries, making the English language one of the three most spoken languages in the world.

The English language is also said to be one of the world’s happiest languages, as the word ‘ happy’ is used three times more than ‘sad’. Here at LAL Language Centres our mission is to create the perfect environment for you to learn English and become one of the millions people in the world to share this happy language.

Featured courses

General English courses

The General English course will cover the four main skills you need to write and speak English (reading, writing, listening and speaking), with an emphasis on practical communication in common situations, such as travelling, shopping, and leisure time.

Become an efficient learner

There will be support with grammar and pronunciation, and we will also introduce study skills to help you to become an efficient learner and to keep learning English out of the classroom.

A wide range of materials

The course will usually follow a course book, but we will also use a wide range of materials, including real-life listening and video examples, authentic texts and on-line resources.

Lessons is adapted to your needs

The content of the lessons is adapted to your needs and interests and you will have the opportunity to discuss, negotiate and plan the week’s work with your teacher and fellow students.

New students can join this course at the start of any week (except beginners, who can join only on the first Monday of each month) and choose from a wide range of different general English courses and timetables to suit everyone’s needs and levels.

One of our most popular programmes is the General English Course. Full-time students have three hours per day from Monday to Friday. The General English course is available to all entry levels from complete beginner to advance speaker. The course has been designed for you to learn English with our communicative approach which will help you improve fluency and accuracy.

Does 15 hours per week not sound enough for you? No problem: you can learn English faster with our Intensive English course which will still allow you to balance your classroom interaction with structured study and free time activities, with 30 lessons (22.5 hours) per week. You will learn English at the speed you feel comfortable with, while having time to enjoy your time at LAL.

If you would like to receive a little more personal attention during your course then Premium General English (3 hours per day, from Monday to Friday) is the most suitable choice for you. Premium General English takes a similar form to our standard General English courses but with the added benefit of smaller class sizes: with a maximum of six students per class, there is more personal attention and focus which may help you to learn English.

This course is available in our schools in London, Torbay and Malta and you can choose between the Premium General English and Premium Intensive English, which includes 10 extra lessons in the afternoon.

Another variation of the General English course is the General + Premium course available in London, Torbay and Cape Town. This course has been created for students who enjoy the interaction of a standard size class but also want to have a number of lessons in a more personal environment to improve their skills further.

This way of learning English includes a combination of 20 lessons (15 hours) of General English in groups of maximum 12students, with an additional 10 lessons per week of smaller group classes of only six students, making a total of 22.5 hours per week. The additional 10 afternoon lessons each week will give you the opportunity to put into practice the new language learnt in the General English Course.

Moreover, in our LAL Language Centres in the United States, Boston and Fort Lauderdale, you can take a General English Extra course which consist of 18 hours of tuition per week in a group of maximum 12 students. 15 hours a week will be dedicated to General English and 3 extra hours to conversation classes. This is just the right amount of hours you need if you wish to apply for an F-1 visa to study in the USA.

Another form of General English course is the Afternoon English course in London, Boston and Fort Lauderdale: 5 days per week, 1.5 hours per day in a small group of maximum 12 students. This is the ideal course for you if you want to study and work at the same time or enjoy all the things London has to offer.

Furthermore, if you are not a teenager anymore, our 30+ and 40+ English courses offer an attractive programme for you if you want to study with people your own age. If you choose this course in Malta, we include cultural tours to cities including the beautiful capital city of Malta – Valletta and ‘The Silent City’ of Mdina.

In all our centres you can book private tuition or English for Two courses (private lessons for two people) with one of our native (or equivalent) teachers. Among the advantages of booking private tuition or an English for Two course is the possibility of scheduling your own timetable and agreeing on the topics and skills to focus on with your teacher. This might be the right course for you to prepare for a particular event , such as a job interview, exam, etc.

Do none of the above courses seem attractive to you? Ok: then book your flight to Cape Town and have the adventure of a lifetime with our Travelling Classroom. This seven-day outdoor course will allow you to learn English while on a Safari around South Africa with your fellow students and a qualified teacher.

Lastly, At LAL Torbay we offer a low cost General English course run by trainee teachers supervised by a Cambridge CELTA trainer. If you want to find out more about this or the other courses above, please do not hesitate to send us an e-mail or chat with our student advisors.

Testimonials

Where to learn English

If this is the right course for you, then you just need to choose where. LAL Language Centres run this course in all their schools, in England, South Africa, Malta and the USA.

Learn English Online

Furthermore, you will have the opportunity to practice more outside the classroom on the LAL Advantage online learning platform, available for you at no extra cost. Even when you leave the school, you can continue to use the online platform for three months.

LAL Advantage
mautic is open source marketing automation